Best Citizenship by Investment Countries vary depending on your priorities, including processing speed, family eligibility, investment type, travel freedom, and long-term mobility goals. This guide compares the leading Citizenship by Investment countries in 2026—including Dominica, Antigua & Barbuda, Grenada, Saint Lucia, Saint Kitts & Nevis, Türkiye, Vanuatu, and Malta—to help you choose the program that best fits your needs.

Choosing among the Best Citizenship by Investment Countries in 2026 is less about one “winner” and more about matching a program to your priorities: speed, family inclusion, travel access, investment type (donation vs. real estate), and long-term resilience. In this guide, we compare Dominica, Antigua and Barbuda, Grenada, Saint Lucia, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Malta, Türkiye, and Vanuatu across cost, processing, visa-free travel (as a snapshot), family benefits, taxation (high-level), and long-term value.
Two important 2026 realities shape the market. First, five Eastern Caribbean programs aligned around a USD $200,000 minimum price floor effective July 1, 2024 (OECS Pressroom, 2024). Second, Malta is no longer comparable to Caribbean CBI in the classic “investment → passport” sense after the 2025 CJEU decision and subsequent repeal statements (CJEU Case C‑181/23, 2025; Community Malta Agency, 2026).
This article is informational. Rules and visa-free arrangements change, and eligibility depends on your personal and compliance profile.
How We Compared the Best Citizenship by Investment Countries
We evaluate each jurisdiction on seven factors:
- Investment cost
- “Minimum” (headline threshold) vs. mandatory government fees and route-specific add-ons.
- Processing speed
- Where official timelines exist, we use them; otherwise we note “not published.”
- Visa-free / visa-on-arrival access
- We treat “visa-free counts” as a time-stamped snapshot, not a promise.
- Family benefits
- Who qualifies as a dependent (spouse, children age limits, parents, siblings).
- Taxation (high-level)
- Citizenship ≠ tax residence. Most tax consequences depend on where you live and where your income arises.
- Long-term value
- Program stability, policy direction, reputational risk, and external pressure.
- Investment options
- Donation/fund, real estate, bonds/funds, business routes (where available).
Comparison Table (Best Citizenship by Investment Countries, 2026)
Table 1 — fast scan
| Country | Minimum qualifying investment (headline) | Official / stated processing speed | Travel access snapshot | Family friendliness (high-level) | Best known for |
| Dominica | $200,000 (EDF) (Dominica CBIU, 2025) | Submission/approval stage cited at 3–4 months (Dominica CBIU, 2025) | ~145 destinations | Spouse/children/parents/grandparents (Dominica CBIU, 2025) | Straightforward contribution route at the regional floor |
| Antigua & Barbuda | $230,000 (NDF) (Antigua CIP, 2026) | Not stated as a single service standard on CIP pages | ~154 destinations | Broad dependents incl. siblings; child up to 30 if dependent (Antigua CIP, 2026) | Strong family definitions + established program |
| Grenada | $235,000 (NTF, main + up to 3 dependents) (Grenada statutory update, 2024) | Not stated as a single service standard in the statutory update | ~147 destinations | Family inclusion varies by category | E‑2 nationality planning relevance (U.S. Dept. of State treaty list, 2026) |
| Saint Lucia | $240,000 (NEF, up to 3 dependents) (Saint Lucia Gazette, 2024) | FAQ cites ~90 days from acceptance (Saint Lucia CIP, 2026) | ~144 destinations | Competitive for families; multiple routes | Bond option + route variety |
| Saint Kitts & Nevis | $250,000 (SISC for family up to 4) (SKN CIU, 2026) | 120–180 days (SKN CIU, 2026) | ~157 destinations | Clear dependents: children up to 25 in education; parents 55+ (SKN CIU, 2026) | Clear official process + strong travel snapshot |
| Malta | Not comparable as classic CBI in 2026 (Community Malta Agency, 2026) | N/A | EU passport if naturalised, but framework changed (CJEU, 2025) | N/A | EU citizenship context (high scrutiny, legal changes) |
| Türkiye | $400,000 real estate (Invest in Türkiye, 2026) | Not stated on official overview | ~113 destinations | Family can be included (program rules apply) | Real-asset route in a large economy |
| Vanuatu | $130,000 DSP selling price floor (Vanuatu DSP Order, 2019) | Certificate issuance rule references within 90 days after approval (Vanuatu DSP Order, 2019) | ~88 destinations | Family pricing tiers exist | Lower headline entry cost vs. mobility tradeoff |
How to read this table: “Visa-free counts” are not a guarantee. They are a time-stamped indicator of passport utility and can change due to diplomatic or security decisions
Program-by-program comparison (2026)
Dominica Citizenship by Investment
Investment options
- Economic Diversification Fund (EDF) contribution
- Real estate in an approved project (minimum property value $200,000) (Dominica CBIU, 2025)
Cost (minimum + mandatory fees)
- EDF: $200,000 main applicant
- Plus mandatory fees (examples): processing, due diligence, interview, certificate fees (Dominica CBIU, 2025)
Processing speed
- Dominica’s official process guide cites 3–4 months in the submission/approval stage (Dominica CBIU, 2025).
Travel access
- Snapshot often cited around 145 destinations in 2026
Family benefits
- Dependents can include spouse, children, parents, and grandparents (Dominica CBIU, 2025).
Taxation (high-level)
- Dominica’s CBIU materials market “minimal taxation” (Dominica CBIU, 2025). Treat this as general and confirm with tax counsel based on your residence plan.
Pros
- Minimum threshold aligns with the regional floor.
- Clear government-published fee structure and process steps.
Cons
- Like all Caribbean CBIs, long-term travel access can be affected by external policy shifts.
- Real estate route adds government fees on top of the property purchase (Dominica CBIU, 2025).
Antigua & Barbuda Citizenship by Investment
Investment options (official minimums)
- NDF: $230,000
- Real estate: $300,000 (hold 5 years)
- Business: $1.5m sole investor or $5m joint (min $400k each)
- UWI Fund: $260,000 inclusive of processing fees (Antigua CIP, 2026)
Processing speed
- Antigua’s CIP pages outline process mechanics and fees, but do not publish a single “X days” standard in the same way Saint Kitts does (Antigua CIP, 2026).
Family benefits (standout)
Antigua’s dependent definition is among the broadest in this comparison, including:
- Child up to 30 (financially dependent)
- Parent/grandparent 55+ (financially dependent)
- Siblings (unmarried), plus future spouse/child rules (Antigua CIP, 2026)
Unique requirement
- A 5-day physical presence requirement applies within the first five years after citizenship (Antigua CIP, 2026).
Long-term value note (2026 risk factor)
- Antigua published that the European Commission requested a phase-out by June 1, 2028 (Government of Antigua & Barbuda, 2026). This doesn’t mean immediate cancellation, but it is highly relevant to “durability” scoring.
Pros
- Strong family inclusion rules.
- Multiple routes and clear published minimums.
Cons
- External policy pressure is now part of the risk conversation (Government of Antigua & Barbuda, 2026).
- Presence requirement may be a friction point for some families.
Grenada Citizenship by Investment
Investment options (statutory update highlights)
- NTF contribution: $235,000 for main applicant + up to 3 dependents (Grenada statutory update, 2024)
- Real estate: minimums include $350,000 (unit) and $270,000 (per share structure in certain cases) (Grenada statutory update, 2024)
Processing speed
- The statutory update is about pricing; it does not function as a service standard for timelines.
Why Grenada is different
- Grenada appears on the U.S. treaty country list for E‑2 eligibility (U.S. Department of State, 2026). This is why Grenada is frequently shortlisted by entrepreneurs—but the E‑2 is a separate U.S. visa adjudication. Citizenship helps meet the nationality requirement; it does not guarantee the visa.
Pros
- Clear statutory pricing update post-2024 reforms.
- E‑2 treaty-country relevance (for eligible investors with a real U.S. business plan).
Cons
- Not the lowest-cost Caribbean option.
- Due diligence and compliance standards have tightened regionally (OECS Pressroom, 2024).
Saint Lucia Citizenship by Investment
Investment options (official)
- National Economic Fund (NEF): $240,000 for applicant + up to 3 dependents (Saint Lucia Gazette, 2024)
- Real estate: $300,000 + administration fees (Saint Lucia CIP, 2026)
- Government bonds (NAB): $300,000 + $50,000 administration fee (Saint Lucia CIP, 2026)
- Enterprise options also exist (Saint Lucia CIP, 2026)
Processing speed
- Saint Lucia’s FAQ cites approximately 90 days from acceptance for processing to grant (Saint Lucia CIP, 2026). In practice, timelines can vary by case complexity and compliance checks.
Pros
- Route variety (including a bond route many investors find attractive conceptually).
- Published NEF schedule and add-on amounts (Saint Lucia Gazette, 2024).
Cons
- Travel snapshot is solid but not top-of-Caribbean in 2026
- Real estate route includes administration fees, not just the $300,000 minimum (Saint Lucia CIP, 2026).
Saint Kitts & Nevis Citizenship by Investment
Investment options (official, 2026)
- Sustainable Island State Contribution (SISC): $250,000 (main applicant or family up to four) (SKN CIU, 2026)
- Public Benefit Option: $250,000 (SKN CIU, 2026)
- Real estate: from $325,000 (condos / developer routes); $600,000 for private homes (SKN CIU, 2026)
Processing speed (official)
- CIU states 120–180 days (SKN CIU, 2026).
Family benefits
- Children up to 25 if in education; parents 55+ supported (SKN CIU, 2026).
Pros
- One of the clearest official process/timeline publications.
- Strong 2026 travel snapshot (time-stamped).
Cons
- Highest minimum contribution among the Caribbean set in this comparison.
- As with all CBIs, ongoing interviews and due diligence are now standard (SKN CIU, 2026).
Malta (where appropriate, in 2026)
Malta is frequently searched as “citizenship by investment,” but in 2026 it needs careful handling:
- The CJEU ruled Malta’s investor citizenship scheme infringed EU law (CJEU Case C‑181/23, 2025).
- Community Malta Agency stated the former citizenship-by-investment framework was repealed after the judgment (Community Malta Agency, 2026).
Practical takeaway: If your goal is an EU passport, Malta belongs in a separate category—closer to a high-scrutiny merit-based/legal framework discussion than a “CBI product comparison” alongside Caribbean programs.
Türkiye Citizenship by Investment
Investment options (official overview)
- $400,000 real estate purchase with a 3-year no-sale restriction annotation (Invest in Türkiye, 2026)
- $500,000 in government bonds or qualifying fund shares (hold 3 years) (Invest in Türkiye, 2026)
Pros
- Real asset route in a large market.
- Clear, published thresholds on official channels.
Cons
- Mobility snapshot is materially lower than Caribbean leaders in 2026
- Real estate execution risk (pricing, liquidity, and holding period discipline) matters more.
Vanuatu Citizenship by Investment
DSP minimum (official pricing floor)
- DSP selling price floor from $130,000 for a single applicant (Vanuatu DSP Order, 2019)
Processing
- DSP order includes a “within 90 days after approval” certificate issuance rule (Vanuatu DSP Order, 2019).
Pros
- Lower headline entry than Caribbean programs.
- Often used as a speed-and-simplicity “Plan B” (where travel access needs are moderate).
Cons
- Travel snapshot is significantly lower than Caribbean passports in 2026
- As always, confirm exact eligibility and compliance expectations with designated agents and counsel.
Deeper comparison: cost, speed, family, travel, tax (2026)
Table 2 — costs shown as (a) minimum investment plus (b) mandatory government fees where clearly published.
Agent/legal fees, translations, notarisation, and bank costs vary by case and are not included unless the program explicitly bundles them.
| Country | Minimum investment (headline) | Notable mandatory fees (examples, not exhaustive) | Processing speed (official) | Family highlights | Travel snapshot (2026) | Long-term value notes |
| Dominica | $200,000 EDF | Due diligence, interview, certificate fees (Dominica CBIU, 2025) | 3–4 months submission/approval stage (Dominica CBIU, 2025) | Spouse/children/parents/grandparents (Dominica CBIU, 2025) | ~145 | Stable Caribbean option, but subject to external scrutiny |
| Antigua & Barbuda | $230,000 NDF | Published schedules include processing + due diligence tables (Antigua CIP, 2026) | Not published as a single standard | Broad dependents (child up to 30; parents 55+; siblings) (Antigua CIP, 2026) | ~154 | EU phase-out request published (Govt of Antigua & Barbuda, 2026) |
| Grenada | $235,000 NTF (main + up to 3) | Real estate minimums also updated in statutory schedule (Grenada statutory update, 2024) | Not published as a single standard | Route-specific | ~147 | E‑2 treaty-country relevance (U.S. Dept. of State, 2026) |
| Saint Lucia | $240,000 NEF (up to 3 dependents) | Processing + due diligence fees + admin fees by route (Saint Lucia CIP, 2026) | ~90 days from acceptance (FAQ) (Saint Lucia CIP, 2026) | Multiple routes; add-on dependent fees set (Saint Lucia Gazette, 2024) | ~144 | Route variety; bond route may appeal to some investors |
| Saint Kitts & Nevis | $250,000 SISC (family up to 4) | Due diligence fees published; mandatory interview (SKN CIU, 2026) | 120–180 days (SKN CIU, 2026) | Children up to 25 if enrolled in school; parents 55+ (SKN CIU, 2026) | ~157 | Strong travel snapshot; higher entry cost |
| Malta | N/A in classic CBI terms | Post-2025 legal changes; not comparable (Community Malta Agency, 2026) | N/A | N/A | EU | High scrutiny merit-based option |
| Türkiye | $400,000 real estate | Holding period and certification steps apply (Invest in Türkiye, 2026) | Not published as a single standard | Family rules apply | ~113 | Real estate execution and currency/market risk matter |
| Vanuatu | $130,000 DSP floor | Regulation sets selling price floors + fee schedules (Vanuatu DSP Order, 2019) | Certificate issuance rule within 90 days after approval (Vanuatu DSP Order, 2019) | Family tiers priced | ~88 | Lower mobility; choose only if it matches objectives |
Which Citizenship by Investment Country Is Right for You?
1) You want the fastest official timeline
- Saint Kitts and Nevis (120–180 days stated) (SKN CIU, 2026)
- Dominica (3–4 months cited in process guide stage) (Dominica CBIU, 2025)
Also consider Saint Lucia if the “90-day from acceptance” timeline matches your risk tolerance and documentation readiness (Saint Lucia CIP, 2026).
2) You’re optimizing for family inclusion and flexibility
- Antigua and Barbuda stands out for dependent definitions (child up to 30 if dependent, parents/grandparents 55+, siblings) (Antigua CIP, 2026).
- Saint Kitts and Nevis is also clear and family-inclusive (SKN CIU, 2026).
3) You want a Caribbean passport but prefer the lowest “floor” entry
- Dominica at $200,000 (Dominica CBIU, 2025) is the closest to the regional price-floor narrative (OECS Pressroom, 2024).
4) You care about E‑2 nationality eligibility (not a visa guarantee)
- Grenada is the data-backed option to discuss because it’s on the U.S. treaty-country list for E‑2 (U.S. Department of State, 2026).
Be strict about messaging: the U.S. still evaluates the business, funds, and applicant.
5) You want a real-estate-led citizenship plan
- Türkiye for a $400,000 property route (Invest in Türkiye, 2026).
- Antigua or Grenada if you want Caribbean real estate with program-linked holding periods (Antigua CIP, 2026; Grenada statutory update, 2024).
6) You’re chasing an EU passport
- Treat Malta as a separate, post-2025 category. In 2026, it is not a “typical CBI pick” and should be evaluated as a high-scrutiny, evolving framework (CJEU, 2025; Community Malta Agency, 2026).
7) You want the lowest headline cost and accept lower mobility
- Vanuatu (DSP floor from $130,000) (Vanuatu DSP Order, 2019), with the tradeoff of lower travel snapshot vs. Caribbean options.
Risks and Due Diligence
- Due diligence is the program. Expect background checks, source-of-funds review, and (in many programs) interviews (Dominica CBIU, 2025; SKN CIU, 2026).
- Discounting and “too-good-to-be-true” pricing is a red flag. The OECS price-floor direction exists partly to prevent undercutting (OECS Pressroom, 2024).
- Visa-free travel can change. Use visa-free counts as a snapshot, not a lifetime guarantee.
- External policy pressure is real. Antigua’s published EU phase-out request is the kind of macro-risk investors should incorporate into “long-term value” thinking (Government of Antigua & Barbuda, 2026).
- Use authorised channels. Many jurisdictions require use of authorised agents and formal submission processes (Dominica CBIU, 2025; SKN CIU, 2026).
FAQs (2026)
1) What is citizenship by investment?
A legal route where a government may grant citizenship to qualifying applicants who pass due diligence and make a qualifying investment (contribution, real estate, bonds, etc.). Requirements vary by country.
2) What is the fastest citizenship by investment option in 2026?
Among the programs compared, Saint Kitts and Nevis publishes 120–180 days (SKN CIU, 2026). Dominica and Saint Lucia also publish relatively short processing guidance in official materials (Dominica CBIU, 2025; Saint Lucia CIP, 2026), but timelines can vary.
3) Which is the lowest-cost citizenship by investment program here?
By headline minimum, Vanuatu publishes a DSP selling price floor from $130,000 (Vanuatu DSP Order, 2019). In the Caribbean set, Dominica is at $200,000 minimum (Dominica CBIU, 2025).
4) Which program is best for families?
Often Antigua and Barbuda, due to broad dependent definitions (Antigua CIP, 2026), and Saint Kitts and Nevis for clear family rules and official timelines (SKN CIU, 2026).
5) Does citizenship by investment mean I will pay tax there?
Not automatically. Tax outcomes are generally driven by tax residence, not citizenship. Get personalised advice based on where you will live, where you earn income, and your existing tax obligations.
6) Can I include parents or adult children?
In many cases, yes—under specific dependency rules (e.g., parents 55+ supported in Antigua and SKN) (Antigua CIP, 2026; SKN CIU, 2026).
7) Is Malta still “citizenship by investment” in 2026?
Not in the classic sense. Malta’s investor citizenship scheme was ruled incompatible with EU law and its former framework was stated as repealed (CJEU, 2025; Community Malta Agency, 2026).
8) How reliable are visa-free counts?
They’re useful directional indicators, but they are time-stamped snapshots and can change.
9) Do I need to visit or live there?
Many CBIs have no residency requirement, but some have specific obligations. For example, Antigua has a 5-day presence requirement in the first five years (Antigua CIP, 2026).
10) What documents are typically required?
Expect identity documents, police certificates, proof of source of funds, financial statements, and civil status documents. Exact lists and formats vary by jurisdiction.
11) How can FTB Mobility help?
FTB Mobility supports multi-jurisdiction program shortlisting and end-to-end execution—especially helpful if you’re balancing family eligibility, investment structuring (real estate vs. contribution), and longer-term mobility planning across more than one country.
Next steps: a practical checklist
- Define your primary goal: speed, family inclusion, E‑2 nationality planning, real estate exposure, or travel utility.
- Map your family tree (dependents, ages, education, parents).
- Decide your investment preference: non-refundable contribution vs. real estate vs. bonds/funds.
- Prepare compliance basics early: source of funds, police certificates, translations.
- Build a shortlist of 2–3 jurisdictions, then validate eligibility and timelines with a qualified advisor.
How FTB Mobility Helps
If you want a tailored shortlist across the Best Citizenship by Investment Countries (and alternative residency routes where citizenship isn’t the right tool), FTB Mobility can help you compare programs objectively and structure a plan that fits both compliance realities and your long-term mobility goals.